Identity.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

– “Would you say you’re Pakistani?” He asked with a hesitant voice.

– “I don’t know to be honest”, I replied. “Sometimes I feel so distant and different from most people I know in Pakistan that the only phase of my life I feel has ever had close ties with its soil, was my childhood. Yet, there are also times during which my heart is filled by nothing else but a unique and unfading patriotism for this land. During those moments, my heart roars and rejoices at the sight and sound of the land it came from.”

– “And when exactly do these moments occur?” He asked with a curious smile.

– “Whenever Pakistan Cricket team walks on the field and I can see our Cricket fans waving our flag. Whenever I see that crescent and star, and I listen to our national anthem, that’s when I am nothing else but a true Pakistani.”

Leave a Reply

